FINTECH as AN EMERGING TREND

Fintech refers to the novel processes and products that become available for financial services due to the digital technological advancements. Fintech includes technologically enabled financial innovation leading to new business models, applications, processes, or products with an associated material effect on financial markets, institutions, and financial services. India is transitioning into a dynamic ecosystem offering Fintech start-ups a platform to grow into billion-dollar unicorns. From tapping new segments to exploring foreign markets, Fintech in India is pursuing multiple targets. The traditionally cash-driven Indian economy has responded well to the Fintech opportunity, primarily triggered by a surge in e-commerce, and Smartphone penetration. However, India's growth is still not comparable in scale to its global counterparts but is stacked well, due to a strong talent pipeline of the tech workforce. Hence, adopting an exploratory approach, based on in-depth literature review, the chapter aims to identify the challenges and deliberate on the outlook for Fintech in India. It won’t be wrong to presume that 2021 is the most awaited year. 2020, owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, has not only upended normal life but also has severely disrupted businesses across the globe. COVID-19 Impact While the fintech companies in the payment space witnessed a second spurt of growth after the demonetization, the lending companies have been severely impacted because of COVID-19. During the pandemic, a lot of companies focused on product and process innovations to become more customer-centric and build the capability to handle large disruptions. We are going to witness some of the outputs of these efforts with innovative products getting launched and companies exploring physical models to bolster collection management capabilities. Technology Trends Fintech companies and the financial industry at large has always been at the forefront of adopting new technologies. Today, ML models are widely used in the fintech space to underwrite loans based on alternative data. While the focus of these models till now had been in use cases related to underwriting and fraud identification, ML models will start finding their place in collection management also. Changing Industry Landscape The fintech landscape in India has been changing at a lightning speed in the last couple of years and has become one of the world’s largest fintech markets after US, UK and China. Though some of the subsegments have been severely impacted by COVID-19, everyone still remains bullish on the long-term growth prospects of the industry. CONCLUSION FinTech has been known for their coming of age technology owning towards offering the most convenient and flexible options for consumers. It is not surprising that going forward, financial services will offer a customized and local offering to their customers using data analytics. The more and more advances in technology financial services adapt to upgrade their strategies, more growth in this sector is foreseen. This is just the beginning of a huge FinTech market in the upcoming decade!