Films and television really influence how people behave significantly

The advent of movies and television brought about great changes in our modern life. Some people suggest they are purely a form of entertainment, while others think they play an important role in the society. In my opinion, I think films and television really influence how people behave significantly. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, films and television provide general public with a lot of negative role models, which many people are willing to emulate. These days, the so-called “anti-hero” is a big part of popular culture. This is a type of character who acts badly around other people, ignores the rules of society and has a really misanthropic attitude. Commonly, these characters glorify excessive violence and drug use. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, a close friend of mine was a huge fan of characters like this. While he started high school as a straight-A student, he later began to watch a lot of films which gave him the impression that taking drugs and fighting with his classmates was amusing and even desirable behavior. As a result, he barely finished high school and is now unemployed. Had he not watched so many terrible movies, he would not be in such a desperate situation today. Secondly, TV programs and movies also provide people with many positive role models. For people who desire to watch wholesome shows, there are many family-friendly options to choose from. Programs of this type showcase functioning and stable families. They don’t just show traditional and conservative families, but caring, loving people from many different backgrounds and with many different beliefs. For instance, my family often takes inspiration from the parents and children we see on our favorite family drama, “The Chens”. We are not always able to live up to the ideals the show presents to us, but they positively influence the way we behave every day. We are really thankful for the impact it has on our lives. In conclusion, I strongly believe that television and movies do influence the way almost everyone behave in modern society. This is because some movies cause us to act in detrimental ways, and because other shows inspire us to emulate and embrace positive values.