Field of specialization study in the past

I was a biotechnology student in International University, Vietnam. I chose this field because I believe in its huge applications in my country. It can provide various skills for future employment opportunities and also future deeper research, such as molecular diagnostic, molecular biology, analytical chemistry, etc. For me, biotechnology is the science of the future. In the 1st year in 2017, I studied some basic courses, like calculus, physics, biology, and chemistry. And more importantly, Academic English, which is used as the medium of teaching and research. The following year, I focused more on the foundation subjects, such as plant physiology, environmental science, human and animal physiology, genetics, molecular biotechnology. Those courses played an essential role on my decision of choosing the main major. The 3rd year was my favourite year. I joined the culture exchange in Fukui University, Japan for one semester, where I learned a lot about the Japanese culture and language. I was really admired how biotechnology has been developed in Japan, so I dreamed of coming back to study in this country in the near future. After coming back, I started to study deeper knowledge about molecular biotechnology, and the laboratory activities provide me with a lot of practical skills such as, stem cell culture, microorganism culture, oocyte culture, Western Blotting, PCR etc. And the theoretical subjects like experimental design, scientific writing and data analysis help me prepare for my graduation thesis. In the summer semester of my 4th year, I did an internship at the Infertility Department at Hung Vuong Hospital to gain more knowledge about the application of biotechnology in health system in reality. After internship, I realized that the reproductive technology is still a new topic in Vietnam and need more research, so I have chosen the topic about improving the culture medium for growing oocytes for my graduation project. In my last year, I studied about stem cell biology, which was mainly about growing oocytes and stem cell culture, and found that was my interest. Therefore, I did my thesis research under the supervision of Prof. Bui Hong Thuy, the stem cell biology lecturer. My thesis was about establish the in vitro culture medium for porcine growing oocytes by supplying antioxidant. The main aim of the research has been reached: Antioxidant has shown to support the oocytes in in vitro culture system. Thesis project gave me the opportunity to learn many techniques in the field of reproductive biology. I believe those valuable skills will be helpful in my future.