Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Nowadays informational technologies are playing an important role in our lives. Many spheres were transformed a lot due to the impact of technological revolution, and education is not an exception. Modern generation prefers learning computer based subjects instead of science. From my point of view, this development has a positive focus, and I will give a number of reasons for this trend. Using a computer nowadays became a necessity due to the tendency of penetration of informational technologies into all life areas. Today we cannot imagine our daily routine without typing on the laptop or smartphone, it has become our habit. That is why graduates seek to learn computer science. Moreover, many employees require good basic technical skills when searching for a candidate. For example, giants like Yandex, Google and so on ask about your MS Word and MS Excel proficiency levels. The next common reason for becoming science less popular among students, is that studying science subjects seems to be boring and uninteresting for most youngsters. Knowledge obtained from it is more theoretical than practical, unlike computer science, which is more applicable in real life. Furthermore, technical based subjects sometimes need creativity from the learners. Another justification for this development is that working in the IT industry can give a lot of different opportunities for future promotions. Also, it is a well-known fact that employees can earn more money on starting positions in IT rather than in other industries. Striving for a good career, graduates are more engaged with learning computer based subjects in order to satisfy prospective employers. In conclusion, technological progress influenced the increase in importance of computer skills in our daily life. Therefore, students try to be up-to-date and pay more attention to studying technologies.