Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up.

An ideology exists that because women take full responsibility for decisions about childbearing, they also are responsible for rearing the child. In my opinion, I disagree that the women ought to be responsible for decisions about both childbearing and raising the child because it will greatly diminish the father’s role in child’s life and aside from that, parenthood is a shared responsibility. First of all, decisions on childbearing may be greatly attached to women’s choice. However, many other factors should be considered in rearing the child such as the couple’s financial ability to support the growth of the new baby. The father’s role is not limited to save money for his family but also includes changing the diapers in the middle of the night, as I have mentioned before parenthood is a shared responsibility. Also, a father should be always involved in raising the child because there are several activities that are best suited to be done by the father; such as, bringing the child from a sports event. This will lead to increasing the relationship between the father and his children, and this cannot be done by depriving the father of his right in bringing up his babies. In addition, women are different in the modern era. More women are breaking the traditional view that they are confined to the four walls of the home as a housewife. More women, therefore, want to have shared responsibility between them and their partner in raising their kids. For instance, a woman takes her child to school and his father is committed to bringing him/her back home. In conclusion, parenthood is a shared responsibility and dividing the tasks of bringing up the child between the two couples will lead to a healthy, strong relationship between them and their children.