Fast food increases obesity

With the changing pace of life, fast food is becoming increasingly popular in some countries. It offers an affordable and accessible solution to hunger. Fast food is causing various medical issues for people like obesity and depression. To create an entry barrier, one possible solution for the government is to increase taxes on such products. There is a section of the consumer that only consumes fast food because it is cheap. This will act as a deterrent for them and reduce consumption. I disagree with raising taxes because of three reasons. First, it will only be effective if the taxes levied are considerable. It draws parallels to the raising taxes on oil prices. It is effective only if the alternative becomes affordable in comparison. Also, this solution allows the providers the opportunity to decrease base prices to maintain the prices for consumers. Second, the makers of fast food can react by lowering the cost of production. Using cheaper ingredients and increased volumes of additives will further make fast food unhealthier. Lastly, the biggest supporters of fast foods are people who eat them for taste. An increase in taxes will have no effect on consumption for these individuals. This is corroborated by the case study of McDonald’s Chicken McGrill. It was the cheapest burger introduced by McDonald’s in India at a price of Rs. 25. As consumers acquired the taste, the fast-food provider raised its prices to Rs. 45 in only one year. Yet there was no effect on the consumption of the product as it is still their most popular item on the menu. Consequently, in my opinion, raising prices by levying additional taxes by the government will not solve the increasing consumption problem.