Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in.

The fashion industry is thriving like never before, and the fashion trends change very frequently these days. What was in vogue yesterday becomes obsolete today. I believe sometimes it is good to buy things which are in fashion but otherwise, people should dress in clothes that they are comfortable in. Firstly, following fashion trends is very expensive and a waste of money for the people who do not belong to fashion and film industry. Apparels and accessories which are in trend are generally very costly and sometimes pinch a hole in one’s pocket. Moreover, they go out of fashion very quickly and are not wearable after a certain point. For instance, in India silk sarees were in fashion in mid 90’s and they would range from Rs. 5000 – 50000; but now they are out of fashion and different material like brocade, chiffon or net are in vogue. Secondly, I think it is more important to feel comfortable and confident in what you wear. It is not necessary that the clothes in fashion will suit your body type. For instance, Indian actress, Vidya Balan garnered a lot of criticism when she tried to follow the trends and dressing up in the western outfit which did not suit her body, culture and style. But then she went back to her roots and started dressing up in traditional Indian wears and now she always looks stunning and critics do not through fire on her. In a nutshell, it is of utmost important that people buy clothes which are more wearable and in-line with their lifestyle. Fashion trends change in every season and it is merely a tactic to sell clothes. If one wears clothes they are confident and comfortable in, they will automatically look good.