Fashion has become more and more important when people choose clothes. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Fashionable garments have risen to prominence in recent decades due to the globalization, changing the way people choose clothes. Given that this pattern could be attributed to many reasons, it could be fraught with many pitfalls. It is true that there are many reasons behind this situation. First, fashionable clothes express wearers’ personal identity and taste in fashion style, thereby gaining more respect and admiration from other people. Subsequently, If individuals select clothes incompatible with the current fashion trend, they would be deemed low-society and old-fashioned. Second, fashionable garments suggest the correlation with exorbitant prices. It is implied that the affordability of these expensive items of clothing is the sign of prosperity, directly pushing people to purchase them in order to show off their socio-economic status. However, it should be acknowledged that this trend could lead to several repercussions. First, Fashion could be prioritised over other criteria such as materials and functionality when it comes to the selection of clothes. In fact, many women purchase dresses designed elegant and artistic without knowing that they are irrelevant and incongruous in real-life situations. In addition, women wearing high-fashion garment especially those are short and tight to the body could enhance their sexual allure, thereby making them more vulnerable to sexual harassment and even abuse by male counterparts. In conclusion, This pattern could stem from personal reasons. However, it could culminate in detrimental impacts such as the indifference to other criteria when choosing clothes or even the increase in cases of sexual abuse in women.