Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

The renowned civilizations in the history of mankind thrived through the enormous ploughed fields and storages, capable of tons of reserves of seeds and grains. Every nook and corner of historic artifacts shed light into this fact. Although nobody dares to dispute it, how well our younger generations have an attitude and aptitude towards it is debatable. One or two generations prior, people didn't ought to toil hard to inculcate the fervor for soil in children, it was in the air. It was almost impossible for them to think beyond agriculture. However things have changed; with the advent of modernization and globalization people are bound to formal education which starts from age four to early twenties. Modern man spends more time in classrooms than in fields. Consequently, it is futile to expect men to jeopardize thein education for farming. Therefore the only possible solution to encourage agriculture is to instill it in the curriculum. It can be done in multiple and innovative ways. For instance, providing opportunities for students to interact with the local farmers and acquainting them with the existing and novel practices will go a long way in sculpting a favorable attitude towards agriculture. Furthermore, creating opportunities for sprouting farmers who take up formal degree in agriculture is essential to elevate the stature of agriculture in the eyes of youngsters. Not only that, but also delivering subsidies for farmers by the government is also of paramount importance. After all, nobody wants to be in debt just because they help to build the nation. In short, even though it requires intensive planning and execution to lit the spark of passion for agriculture that once burned with vigor naturally in the hearts of our forefathers, it is not impossible.