Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

It is irrefutable that agriculture plays an indispensable role in entire life of an economy by catering the needs of citizens. However, these days young people are reluctant to get employment in farming. In following paragraphs, I intend to discuss the factors leading to poor participation of youth in farming and suggest some measures to imbibe the interest of youngsters in this sector There is plethora of socio-cultural and socio-economic reasons which acts as a stumbling blocks in contribution of youth in agriculture. The predominant factor is young people misconception towards farming as an unprofitable profession and to fulfill their wants and desires they opt for other industries. Moreover, agriculture seems a daunting task to youth as it involves more physical work, hence they lure towards jobs related to science and technology. Furthermore, few Orthodox farmers think that farming may fail to provide better career prospects to their offsprins and to secure their future, parents coerce them to pursue other activities. Thus, all these factors result in low participation of youth in field of agriculture. Therefore, there is dire need to motivate youngsters in order to revive their interest in cultivation. For this, law makers and intellectual members of society must take praiseworthy steps to promote farming. To emabrk with, government should provide subsidies and make new policies so that agriculture may boom. Besides this, new educational degrees and programmes must be introduced to attract youngsters toward Soil-culture. In compendium, decline of youth in agriculture may have global effects on economy. Thus, concerned authorities should put a noose on this alarming situation, if no such steps are taken it would be har nut to crack