Some think that government should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier.

Well nowadays all the people are concerned about their body fitness because of rising health disorders. Due to which some people lay stress on idea that imposing tax on junk foods may prove to be successful in motivating the populace to stay fit. Whereas, i believe that this would not be an effective measure to cope up with this issue. Viewing the present scenario youth's central area of focus is better health structure, Than also they get diverted towards other junk foods and expensive liquors. Being habitual for certain food will arise more curosity to purchase even high duty products. Similarly by imposing tax on unhealthy food will not prove out to be successful rather it will increase the tax liability of a person. For instance, government levys nearly 70 excise on liquors in order to reduce its consumption among population. Somehow authorities failed to do so because of people habit of eating unhealthy food. Thus imposing tax on junk foods will not lower its consumption instead it would increase tax liability. Moreover, levying heavy duties on unhealthy food will create a social difference in society by differentiating rich and poor or middle class families. More wealthy people will continue availing the services or junk foods even at higher prices but the other group like middle class family budget restrict them from buying highly taxed commodities. In conclusion imposing high taxes will increase tax liability of individual and create a social difference among people in society.