Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

Agriculture is considered to be a major source of income generation for most countries, but unfortunately, youth generation is becoming increasing disinterested in this sector. Two of the major reasons of not becoming a farmer are; farming is considered as an old fashion profession and it is not financially rewarding as well. This essay will explore why this is the case and suggest possible solutions to overcome this pressing issue. Youth generation is interested in new technology, like drone and artificial intelligence, and believe that farming is a boring profession. When our youth watches sci-fi and super hero movies, they will naturally attract towards technology and science related professions. Furthermore, farming is not a financially rewarding profession. If you compare the remuneration of a software developer to an average farmer, you will find a huge gap in their pay structure and other rewards. People want to pursue highly rewarding profession so that they buy their dream house and live a comfortable life. Thus, above two factors can be considered as a barrier to entry into to this profession. There are certain factors which can help to catch youngsters interest in this profession. Government should introduce new technology, such as drone pest spraying and seed planting techniques via drones, in the field of agriculture. This will not only attract young students, but also increase the productivity by many folds. In addition, government should introduce scholarships for agricultural studies and provide financial grants to farmers. When studies will be funded and other financial perks are being provided at job, students will be attracted towards this profession. Therefore, the combination of above two will gain back attention of the learners. To conclude, our youth is increasing drifting away from the farmer profession which is considered to be one of the most important source of income generation for the country. Lack of financial rewards and new technology in this field are the major contributing factors towards loss of interest in this sector. I firmly believe that If we introduce latest technology and provide financial rewards, young learners will come back to the profession.