Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

It is commonly believed that plantation is essential to many economies. However, the problem is that young people these days no longer want to work in the agricultural industry. This essay will suggest that this phenomenon is a result of a changing attitude of young workers towards their career paths and then submit raising wages in this industry as the most efficient solution. It is obvious that the emergence of new technology nowadays, such as YouTube and Instagram, has shaped how younger generations feel about their future careers. Everyone who can access to the internet can make money online without having to get up early to work at the office in the traditional way. As a consequence, many young people prefer working online to doing traditional farming. My experience is a prime of example of this. About 10 years ago, my father used to own a shrimp farm in Suphanburi province of Thailand, which generated lots of money. However, I did not want to continue my father's business, because I was not accustomed to the natural world and thought that working in the digital world was a faster way to succeed in my career path. As a result, my father decided to cease his business. One of the most viable solutions to this decline in farming jobs among young people is increasing income in the agricultural sector. Since today's young people want to be independent of their parents as early as possible, an amount of income that within the agrarian industry will incentivize younger generations to apply for agricultural jobs. For instance, in 2017 more than a third of people working in the agricultural sector are aged between 16 and 22 due to the previous year's implementation of the government policy to increase salaries for younger generations in the industry. In conclusion, a decrease in the number of young folks working in the agricultural industry has stemmed from the advent of the digital world that has affected their feeling about the said jobs. The most practical solution is raising salaries in the industry.