Farming is the backbone of every country, but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case, and what can be done to avoid it?

In today’s world, farming plays an integral role in providing food and increasing countries’ revenue. Despite the significant role of agriculture in societies, juveniles, more than past, are reluctant to opt for this job. The origins of this change seem to stem from several factors, while a number of remedies are also available, which will be discussed in this essay. There exist some reasons linked to why the young generation avoid choosing farming as their career. In the first place, farming can be considered as a low-level social status? and unprofitable job compared to modern-day ones, such as lawyers, doctors, or engineers. Moreover, due to the fact that farms are located in the countrysides, youngsters have to settle in rural areas, which have fewer facilities than cities. It goes without saying that their income would be limited to the harvest time, and also, in some situations, it would be insecure on the grounds of natural disasters, for instance, floods or storms. Hence, young people are less inclined to enter agriculture. Regarding the solution in addressing the given problem, first and foremost, governments should invest more money in improving rural areas’ amenities, which would encourage people to live in these regions, and thus opt for farming as their livelihood. Furthermore, governments can motivate adolescents to enter this profession by some financial incentives like tax discounts. In doing so, campaigns or informative films could pay off. Another remedy would be to establish farming subjects in high schools, which would inspire youngsters to study this field in universities, thereby choosing this job later. This, in turn, can increase international students to enter this sector, resulting in mitigating the severity of the issue. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that agriculture is of paramount importance in many countries, and adopting the above-mentioned remedies can increase the tendency among young people to enter this profession.