Farmers within a country are often protected by tarrifs- that is special taxes on imported food

The government is protecting the farmer by tariffs that is they are implementing special taxes on imports such policies are necessary. Farmer constitutes a major part of the society consequently it is a good initiative on the government's part that will benefit them immensely. Farmers are an important part of the community and they supply us with bread, rice, vegetables, oil, fruits, etc. Because of them we get food and survive. By levying tax benefits on them the government will motivate the farmers to bring variations in their produce. The ranchers are the backbone of the country and we need them, They have good knowledge of crops, seeds, pesticides and they also know which crop to plant in which season. Moreover, farmers constitute 70% of the world's economy so it is important to keep them motivated. India imports coal, crude, petroleum, etc to different countries like China, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, etc. 2, 900 metric tons of rice are imported from China every year. Other major importers of rice are Nigeria, the Philippines, the European Union, etc. Wheat is imported from Egypt, Indonesia, etc. On the contrary, increasing tax is a great benefit. However, some of the countries do not provide the farmer with proper equipment which may often lead to poor productivity. This may offend the buyers of another country. An increase in tax may also offend the buyers as they will have to pay a lot of amounts consequently putting too much tax is also not good. By maintaining a balance the condition of farmers can be improved to a great extent. On the other hand, imposing a tax on society is a good policy to maintain a healthy society but it may be difficult for the poor classes of the people. Government should also put a foot forward and provide the farmers equipment for a better farming facility.