Famous benefits or drawbacks

There is no doubt that famous superstars nowadays can easily reach out and interact with their fans thanks to the Internet. While some people believe that fame brings a lot of benefits, others argue it creates more drawbacks to people’s lives. In this essay, I will explore and give my supports for the latter argument. First and foremost, being well-known means that they could be under the press 24/7 which could result in extreme stress. For example, while Lady Gaga was at the peak of her pop career in 2018, she had no choice but to take a break from the public for 2 years due to being monitored and followed by paparazzi. In addition, it can lead to depression as the celebrity may lose their privacy and their lives are under the microscope for they could be reported on all aspects of their mundane activities: attires that they wore, restaurants where they ate, and sometimes even on special, intimate, and private moments with their loved ones. In addition, while some needed their lives off the grid, other celebrities want to sustain their relevance at all costs. As a result, they may stage or set up their stories for news reporters which often leads to articles with scandalous details and shocking photos or videos. Thanks to this, the news is dominated by a multitude of bad press and this could influence the audiences that people can stay famous regardless of the consequences. In conclusion, while having a famous career as a movie star or a sports personality may bring numerous financial benefits, I would argue that being a celebrity can make people life unbearable, especially by the press as either their private life was invaded or they may have to fabricate stories to attract more fans.