Family relationships have the most influence on children

Children first learn about relationships from their own families. Families give them a model from which they start to discover how to build relationships throughout their lives. Children who have a model of healthy relationships from their families are better able to create these relationships outside their families, with the other children and adults in their lives. When children learn the skills of building positive relationships, they can practise these skills over and over again as they meet new people. For example, when parents say "thank you" to children when they help out, then children are more likely to say "thank you" when their peers or other adults do something for them. A warm and safe family environment helps children develop and gives them confidence to explore their world, try new things and learn. Beside, family members feel secure and loved, when they know that their family members love and will protect one another. Good family relationships make it easier to solve any likely problems, resolve conflict and respect differences of opinion in a cordial way.