Family is an integral part of life, since it is hard to get by without their love and support. I disagree with the given statement as I believe that the extended family is now more important than before. This is because extended family can be most trusted with children when parents are working, and als

Family is an integral part of life, since it is hard to get by without their love and support. I disagree with the given statement as I believe that the extended family is now more important than before. This is because extended family can be most trusted with children when parents are working, and also because they can often be exemplary role models. To begin with, extended families can help out with kids when both the parents are busy at work. The pecentage of families where both the parents are career-driven is now higher than ever. Traditionally, children would stay with their moms while the dads went off to work. Now, since both are busy, other members need to babysit and play an active role in the child's life. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A decade ago, when I was in elementary school and my sister was only three years old, my mom was teaching at a university. As a result, she could not spend enough time with us. My grandad would always babysit my sister while I was at school since getting a babysitter was too expensive for us. If it was not for him, then my mother would have had to quit her job. Secondly, older cousins can be good role models for people while growing up and even as adults. People often have a hard time relating to their parents as they are much older. However, cousins are closer to their age, and so they are more relatable. People might be more comfortable sharing problems with them than parents. This is specially important for those with no siblings. For example, my friend is an only child but she is very close to her cousins. When she was struggling with studies and hence, failing her chemistry class back in high school, she went to her older cousin for advice. Her older cousin was able to help her out and gave her private lessons on chemistry so that she could improve. Such concern is hardly likely to come from anyone who is not family. In conclusion, I think that family has always played a crucial role in people's lives and over time, that has not changed at all. Yes, their roles and expectations have changed but in general they are still equally important as they were before. Without them, it would be hard to find someone who would take care of your child when you go off to work and also be active role models for you to look upto.