“False words are not only evil in themselves, but they infect the soul with evil. ”

Although it used to be considered as a sin to utter false words, these days people feel less categorical about telling a lie. Plato highlighted the evil nature of the lie and its affinity with infection that can have a detrimental effect on individual’s soul. I totally disagree with a statement as we all lie. Sometimes lying is acceptable and it's a better decision than hurting someone’s feelings, so it is rather ridiculous to describe it as an evil. The main reason why I do not support this quote is that sometimes we lie with the intention of sparing the feelings of others. People with selfless intentions are deemed to be more moral, honest and benevolent, even when they lie because they take into account other people’s feelings. For instance, we might tell our grandparents that their cake is delicious or tell a colleague that their work makes a valuable contribution, when we don’t believe these things to be true. In other words, our lie serves a better purpose so it doesn’t contain any evil in it. It is called by some people to be “a white lie” due to the fact that helping others is often more important than honesty. Several studies have found that people are quick to forgive white lies, and even to appreciate them. Another essential factor against this is when doctors lie to their patients. It requires the ability to identify suffering in another person and the desire to alleviate that suffering or compassion. More than that, even, it involves anticipation that our words or actions might cause relief in a hypothetical future. It is right to prioritize another person’s feelings over truth. If a patient that is ready to be operated on, asks his doctor if he would be okay, although the chances of survival may be little, it would be acceptable for the doctor to lie and say that everything would be alright as it will encourage the patient to keep fighting for his life. Therefore, not everyone lied or lied to their own advantage. To sum up, while there are many lies that are harmful and just plain wrong. Not all lies are the same, a fact we seem to recognize deep in our minds and bodies.