: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Gone are the days where a typical morning in every household in India is to wake up to a freshly brewed cup of coffee and the newspaper. Almost all students and young professionals nowadays wake up to their phones chiming with an Email or a personal message. The lack of interest in newspapers and news channels has been slowly setting in with the wide availability of smartphones. The other spectrum of youth who do not follow news, are the ones who do not have access to everyday newspapers or a television. The importance of keeping oneself updated with everyday news must be inculcated in the upcoming generation. News is often considered boring by the youth. To them, everyday politics holds little to no value in their everyday life. Reading long newspapers is almost a non-existent skill in the current world of micro blogging. Parents can play a key role in teaching children to stay updated. Bringing in small routines by way of discussing the news, at the breakfast table or the dinner table can tweak the interest of a young mind. Schools also play a significant part in helping students understand the importance of reading the newspaper. To illustrate, in our school, everyday assembly involved a fifteen-minute segment where one student compiled and read out news from that day’s newspaper. Another way of including news in one’s everyday life would be to make use of smartphones that come with a wide variety of apps that provide news. Some apps are customised to provide news in bite sized portions which require little reading time, this can help busy individuals stay abreast of the current events. However, the luxury of smartphones and televisions is not extended to everyone. There is a significant part of our society who do not have access to news. News should be free of cost and available to everyone. An example to make access to news easy is free distribution of newspapers to certain segments of the society. To conclude, being aware of current events and reading the news everyday is a skill. The importance of being aware of current events has to be taught from a young age in order to make it a healthy habit that stays with a person through their life