Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

If we compare today`s people to the older generation, we will find that the old ones were more fit as they used to participate in physical activities more and devote a significant amount of time to their families and friends. While, nowadays, youngsters face with both mental and physical problems. This essay will explain that the development of technology is the main cause; however, the government could encourage people to change their sedentary life by instructing physical education. In this day and age, with the advent of modern technology, people have more dependence on machines and the Internet. In the past, most of the work was done manually, such as household chores, due to the absence of automation. Whereas today, people, especially teenagers, are spending their time working with phones and computers, general gadgets, during their free time instead of doing exercise and playing sports. On the other hand, real communications are limited to social media by the development of technology, and the lack of face to face conversation causes isolation for teenagers and depression or loneliness for the entire people. Hence, the elders used to have a longer, happier life. Despite this, the be-all and end-all solution for this issue are doing exercises and sports so that the nations have to increase the awareness of the public about the benefit of being fit. To illustrate, if the government incorporates physical fitness classes with beneficial equipment at the school curriculum, then pupils will be obliged to partake in activities and games. Furthermore, the government could construct a special path for walking or jogging to encourage people to decrease the over-usage of cars. Also, by improving the city, they can motivate people to converse with their friends in person instead of online. In conclusion, spending more hours on social media and over-reliance on technology will have a detrimental impact on physical and mental health. It is recommended that the state should improve the city facilities and increase public awareness about the effects of outdoor physical activities.