Expeditions to far-flung, remote locations have become increasingly popular in recent years. While this may aid wildlife conservation programs in the short term, I believe that the development is ultimately detrimental to the environment.

Expeditions to far-flung, remote locations have become increasingly popular in recent years. While this may aid wildlife conservation programs in the short term, I believe that the development is ultimately detrimental to the environment. On the one hand, both scientific and tourist missions can contribute to the development of conservation programs. Indeed, on-site scientific study in Antarctica has effectively exposed the mating patterns of several nearly-extinct animal species, such as emperor penguins, owing to careful monitoring of these species, prompting attempts to increase their fertility rate by a factor of two. Meanwhile, travelers visiting isolated locations may become organically motivated to safeguard Earth's fragile ecosystems from further deterioration as they learn about the effects of climate change. For example, two Swedish explorers on an expedition launched a campaign to save Himalayan bald eagles after witnessing eagle babies die of excursion after witnessing eagle chicks starving to death on a remote alpine summit. On the other hand, I feel that the pollution risk posed by these operations should be recognized. Oil leaks from cruise ships and other modes of transportation moving to isolated observation locations are an evident risk. In 2007, a cruise ship on its way to the South Pole collided with an iceberg and sunk to the ocean below, producing a 25-square-kilometer diesel fuel leak. Despite tremendous worldwide efforts, the calamity killed thousands of water species, including many endangered marine birds, in less than two weeks. It also caused irreversible harm to the Antarctic wildlife, algae, and plankton, which form the base of the local food chain, upsetting the biological balance over the whole continent and surrounding waters, upsetting the environmental equilibrium across the whole landmass and close by waters. To sum up, while scientific study and adventurous tourism in isolated regions may contribute to conservation breeding efforts, I believe they represent more severe existential dangers to the ecosystem and natural habitats. As a result, the United Nations should enforce a comprehensive travel embargo in order to protect the ecological and biological values of these unique settings.