Is democracy universal? is it universal?

After the collapse of the USSR, F. Fukuyama predicted “The end of history”; with the victory of the western block, democracy and the market economy will spread worldwide and become universal. Nevertheless, democratisation, sometimes imposed by the USA, have often failed since 1991, for instance in Afghanistan or during the Arab spring. Moreover, some powers, like China and Russia, are contesting democracy as a western – and thus imperialist - value. Hence, is there always a consensus on the democracy as “the worst system, at the exception of others”? If there has been a clear democratisation of the world since 1945, democracy is not nowadays universal. Indeed, democracy has spread during the decolonization; if independence carried out civil war and dictature, the African countries are slowly becoming stable. Moreover, the USSR’s end prompted democracy in eastern Europe (the Baltic countries are for instance a model for numeric participation), instead of dictatorial communist rule. Nevertheless, democracy isn’t at all universal. Many areas remain into an authoritarian rule, for instance Central Asia (except from Kirghizstan), middle east or part of Africa. Above all, many global powers are dictatures, as China or Russia. Moreover, democratization, often imposed by western interference, has sometimes failed, whereas some states struggle to overpass this “western system”. On the one hand, democratization can indeed fail when this model is imposed by a foreign intervention. For instance, the western interference lead by the USA in Iraq (2003) and in Afghanistan (2001), after wars or civil conflict, degenerated in an unstable country (Iraq) and a country ruled by religious extremist (Afghanistan). Meanwhile, democratization led by local activists may also failed, like the Arab spring. Except Tunisia, all the Arab revolution have failed to establish a democracy; some countries collapsed into civil war (Syria, Libya, Yemen) or authoritarian regime (Algeria, Egypt with Al-Sissi). On the other hand, rising powers want to contest democracy as a value and as a part of the western Mondial order. For instance, China wants to promote “Chinese values” as order, respect of the state sovereignty and the principle of non-interference. However, the willingness of democracy from people worldwide seems universal. People from these rising and authoritarian powers hope (aspirer) for democracy. In China, the Tien An Men’s manifestations show it yesterday, as well as the Umbrellas’ revolution in Hong Honk today. As a consequence, western countries need to promote and spread their model; nevertheless, military actions have clearly failed to impose democratisation. Democracies should thus use diplomatic pression or any kind of support to protect peaceful civil movement in favour of democracy.