Exams as A Form of Assessment?

Nowadays many schools, colleges, and universities assess their students using final examinations. The disadvantage of assessing students by examines is not prospered. In order to, exam brings negative effects to students and the examination does not work on students. On the other hand, the advantages of that help teachers know the capacity of students’ performance. One of the disadvantages of taking exams as an assessment brings negative effects as causes stress to the students in which prone to exhaustion and illness. to illustrate, when students get unsatisfied results in the exam. A lot of students cannot retain handling this issue for their results. Consequently, a lot of students enter into a depressed state. Furthermore, assessing from exams not considered a real appraisal is because examinations usually test on students’ memory but not their real understandings. For example, some students are meticulous, active, and surpassing in the class but in the exam, they are extremely nervous, thus they cannot answer, they will get low grades. It could also be said that some lazy students who last-minute revision tend to memorize everything on their notes without even trying to understand the principles, and in the end, they get great grades, which is not fair. Those opposed to this say that teachers will gain more knowledge of their students. To illustrate, the exams help teachers to know more in which the students are weak to improve them more and more and every student have an issue in some subjects and with exams teacher know in which part can he do favors to the students to help them incrementally improving. In conclusion, take exams as a form of assessment have advantages at given more information about students to their teachers. However, assessing from exams are having disadvantages as can be very stressful and a majority of students usually do worse in normal exams compared to in other forms of assessment. In my opinion, the examination should be replaced with other forms of assessment. I entirely agree to assess students about discussion, self-report, practical work, class activities, and oral presentation. Accordingly, the emphasis should be on envisage how to improve education in students without any lobby for insipid learning and take full credit for study success.