Exams are widely recognized as the primary and most primitive method of evaluating student performance. Historically, tests and examinations were the only means of evaluating students in many countries' school systems. This essay will

Exams are widely recognized as the primary and most primitive method of evaluating student performance. Historically, tests and examinations were the only means of evaluating students in many countries' school systems. This essay will discuss both the educational advantages and disadvantages of this issue. Examinations were primary roots of memory-directed learning. To illustrate, examining students solely through tests causes them to become engrossed in memory-based learning, which caused them to recall the information. As a result, it motivated schoolchild to study harder and succeed in their exams. Furthermore, learners must be evaluated through active and practical mediums. Henceforth, evaluating learners would only be focused on improving problem-solving abilities and statistical operations, resulting in school judging strategies that required less time and staff. We could not, however, avoid the topic of stress and depression that exams bring up. Pupil suffered from sleepless nights and a loss of appetite during exam periods due to the stress of studying. They would never understand why they received lower grades and did not receive an overall evaluation. For another, the pressure on learners to succeed academically was bolstered by a strict regime of formal exams, which might lead to exam anxiety, which had become a nightmare for some students, which was the primary reason why even the most talented students fail in exams. All in all, while the examination method traditionally had some negative effects, I believe it was an effective way to assess performance and understanding of students. Hence, the negative impact it produced was insignificant when compared to the positive impact it brought to the system.