examination is useful for student. Do you agree to disagree with this idea

Evaluation methods of a student’s performance have always been an area of contention around the world. While individuals believe that this can be done by continual assessment of their assignments and project work, others are in favor of formal examination. Personally, I disagree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. To begin with, the aim of the assessment is to quantify how much the student understands the taught subject in its totality. An examination is usually administered on a single taking. The outcome is determined by various circumstances factors such as whether the examination is held in a conducive atmosphere, whether the student is healthy during the time of the examination. All of them are non-academic factors that might influence the exam's outcome. What's more, traditional exam models only focus on theoretical knowledge so I believe that formal examinations are not flexible enough to assess other qualities possessed by students. For example, practical skills and interpersonal and team-working skills such as confidence and the ability of a student to present a topic to the public. On the other hand, there is an argument that the examination that is taken in educational institutes is a more reliable method of testing children's ability that help them try to pass the exam with flying colors in other ones if they get poor test results. In conclusion, formal examinations are a useful means of assessment. However, I think they are not the best way to measure student performance. Because the result only reflects the score, it does not clearly reflect the actual capacity of each individual.