Ex 18: Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Animal rights activists often try to ‘proselytize’ people based on anthropomorphic ideas claiming that it is unethical to subject animals to pain and suffering in the name of ‘good’ for humankind. However, I agree with those who say that it is a necessary evil. On the one hand, animal rights advocates justifiably posit animals’ capability to feel pain as their core argument. Many animals have sophisticated and developed brain, which allows them to experience pain to the degree that is similar to humans’. This can be seen in the case of primates or dogs - whose screams and howls are hauntingly deafening - when being subjected to pain in scientific experiments. It is indisputably wrong to force a human being to undergo such pain, so people’s concern for the animals used in those research is readily understandable. However, completely prohibiting the use of animals in scientific research would be unwise. Regardless of how advanced medical technologies are, they cannot reconstruct or replicate animal cells to cater for certain research. Thus, to develop new medicines and treatments, animal experimentation is only unavoidable in those cases. Furthermore, people who lobby against the use of animals would probably feel differently if they themselves or their family members were cured by a medicine developed by using animals. For example, diabetes sufferers cannot live healthily without Insulin, which was developed by experimenting on dogs. In conclusion, most animals can indeed feel pain to a certain degree, so causing them to experience unnecessary suffering is unacceptable. However, I believe that the development of important medicines sanctifies the suffering caused for animals. There are still several important caveats: unnecessary experiments using animals must not be carried out if they have been done before or do not facilitate medical advancement; and scientists have to try to find ways to minimize the amount of pain animals have to go through