Topic: Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a big city.

In recent years, living in big cities has become a popular trend of the young generation. It is their view that cities are ideal places to live in. While there are some undoubted benefits of this trend, such as the high living standard and the opportunity to build and develop career, there is also a significant disadvantage, namely environmental pollution. The first and most important advantage of living in a big city is higher living standard. In other words, city dwellers have a chance to access cutting-edge facilities and social services including healthcare, education, especially entertainment. A fine example of this is that people who live in cities are able to use computers or smartphones, whereas in mountainous areas, these tools are their desire. Apparently, the state-of-the-art technology uplifts the lives of the citizens. An additional benefit is the opportunity to build and develop a career. This is because big cities attract more domestic and international investment, which dispense thousands of employment with high income and promotion opportunities. For example, in Hanoi, it offers various kinds of jobs such as worker due to enormous companies and factories. However, in the countryside, people can only do agriculture. Accordingly, it is clear from the example that city dwellers may find it much easier to obtain a job than those in the countryside. A major downside to living in a large metropolis is environmental deterioration, especially air pollution and noise pollution. It is the fact that in big cities, not only high population density but also heavy traffic are the reasons cause an increase in emission and noisiness. Recent research states that Hanoi’s air quality index is very high, approximately 170. Therefore, it is likely to seriously affect people’s health. That being said, environmental pollution is a minus point of living in cities. In conclusion, living in big cities has some clear advantages, including the higher living standard and increase chances of employment, in addition to the drawback, the polluted environment. It is personally believed that it depends on personal preference to choose where to live and individual should consider carefully whether the high cost outweighs the benefits to be gained.