Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment. What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

Deforestation is a serious problem, and finding a solution to it will not be simple. It involves a lot of different countries and many political and economic factors. However. as individuals we can each make our contri- bution to the solution. It involves being more responsible about our useof products that come from logging. Logging companies fell trees so that we can have wood to make a lot of useful products: houses, bags and boxes, writing paper, furniture. We all use these things in our daily lives and would not want to gtve them up. We can, however, be less wasteful in the way we use these things. Paper products, in particular, offer many opportunities for reusing, recycling, and reducing our use of them. Many paper products can be reused. We tend to go shopping, carry our purchases home in a paper bag, and then throw the bag away. That means the bag is used only once, when it really has enough life in it to be used several times. We can take the bag with us on our next shop- ping trip or find other uses for it around the house. This is just one example of a paper product that can be reused. Recycling is another important part of being less wasteful. Most kinds of household and office paper can be recycled, and these days most cities have recycling centers. Recycling paper is so easy that there is really no excuse not to do it. Reducing our use of paper might be the most effective action of all. Electronic technology makes a lot of uses of paper unnecessary. We can create documents and read news articles on a computer without using paper. There are many other things we can do in our daily lives, such as using cloth napkins and towels instead of paper ones, to reduce our use of paper. These actions may seem small compared with the terrible impacts of deforestation. However, they are things that we can each do and that, when added up, really can make a difference.