Which do you think affect the changed attitude of people toward animals? Pet-keeping culture? Influence from western culture of ecological thought? Or else?

People harness animals for millenniums. Nowadays their attitude has changed toward animals, there are more and more vegetarians, vegans and animal rights activists. More vegan restaurants are spreading all over the world. Many aspects were the reason for these changes, however, I think the internet is playing an immense role in these changes. People are taking advantage of animals in myriad ways. We consume animal flesh; we wear them and we test different cosmetic products and medicines on animals in laboratories. Why we eat meat despite the fact that the animal was killed and that this is the murder on our plate? I think we are still continuing to eat animals because the consumers of meat do not kill animals by themselves so they think that they are not involved in their misery death. They do not feel guilt for that murder. The majority of people are not aware of how animals suffer while we use them as subjects in product testing. However, as the internet entered every house and everyone got access to the internet, getting the information became extremely easy and fast in the past centuries. In the past, there were televisions and newspapers, but this kind of theme was not popular, and the readers could not respond to them as easily as now by using the internet. In the time when it is extremely easy to show anything to the world, people started to post ill-treatment videos which went viral. Internet users saw how animals are killed in farms, in which situations they ought to live in zoos, how they are trained for circus performances, how they are malnourished when they cannot learn any tricks and so on. People start to speak about them with each other, on the internet on their social network pages. The more bloggers urge human beings to protect animals and their rights. They show how it’s possible to live without using animal products. On the other hand, we also need to take into account that people breed animals by considering the needs of humans. For example, in laboratories where new medicines are tested on mice and other animals the biologists, doctors do not say that they “kill” those animals, but they say they “sacrifice” these animals in the name of science. After testing, scientists discover the pills that can cure severe diseases of not only humans but also animals, as in veterinary medicine using pills is a common thing. Under the circumstances when animal using is vital for the survival of humans, exploiting them is not bad as we may think, as soon as it helps us and animals at the same time. In conclusion, I want to say that, I am majoring in Animal Science and I do not condemn people who eat meat, but I do not like it when people take animals home and keep them as their pets for a while and then just throw them away like they were just toys for fun.