Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. with this opinion?

9-4 Task2 Nowadays, some people state that losing several languages per year is not significant because fewer languages around the world make life more convenient. I completely disagree with this statement. First, one reason of disagreement with this statement is that the loss of some languages cannot decrease the time for people to spend on learning common languages. This is because all existing languages are never replaced by one common language since there have already been major languages around the world. So, if the mother tongue is not a common language, it is essential to study a second language such as English in order to negotiate foreigners accurately in personal situations or business. Thus, in terms of learning languages, there is no benefit in decreasing the number of languages in the world. Secondly, the loss of language causes the destruction of the culture. Language in a country has a strong relationship to their own culture, such as literature, because they are commonly created from the unique living style based on the country’s characters such as climate and nature. For example, if Japanese language is lost from the world, nobody will be able to understand how Japanese literature has intrinsic value, and the world will lose the specific cultural property. Therefore, the decrease of the languages closely related to culture results in the world with little cultural diversity. In conclusion, losing languages is not essential since it enables people to live easily and whether this inclination has merits or drawbacks is a matter of debate. I believe this tendency would not benefit people in learning languages and would degrade the abundant cultural diversity.