Every year an increasing number of students choose to go to another country for their higher education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad?

Nowadays, more and more students choose to study abroad for their higher education. This is widely believed that studying overseas has many good benefits, but besides, it still has some drawbacks. On the one hand, there are many advantages of studying in a foreign countries. Firstly, overseas students can have a better living and learning environment. They have chance to expose to different cultures and costumes and widen the knowledge about them. Secondly, living alone in foreign country makes them more independent under any circumstances. For example, they know how to take care of themselves like cooking, cleaning or monthly spending. Finally, the better courses makes condition for students to gain good qualifications, which opens the door to get better job opportunities with high salaries. However, it is not completely beneficial, because there are some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. First of all, studying and living alone in unfamiliar culture can cause cultural shock leading to homesickness or depression. It affects not only students’ psychology, but also their performance. Another drawback of studying abroad is the problems about visa permission, finding accomodation or paying the bills. This can interrupt their study because they may temporarily absent from school to earn money. Last but not least, the language barrier is a dilemma. If you are not able to master the language or communication skills, you may be isolated in the community. In conclusion, studying abroad has both advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, we need make careful decisions on this matter if you intend to study in another country.