Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Every society needs laws to prevent any egregious behaviour from taking place. Just laws treat people equally and protect their rights. On the other hand, unjust laws are the one's that discriminate amongst humans and treat them differently. These laws have no place in any society and need to be abolished. Thus, I agree with the prompt that we need to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws for 2 reasons. Laws help in smooth functioning of society. There will be chaos if people don't follow laws. Following laws is a responsibility of each and every individual in a society. People feel safe due to laws. . . . Sometimes resisting unjust laws is the only way to get the laws abolished. When British colonized India, they introduced many unjust laws to discriminate against Indians. Similarly there were unjust laws in America that discriminated against black people. Many believed in obeying such unjust laws and waiting for a change of heart of the rulers. But Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr. believed that this was counterproductive and they publicly disobeyed and resisted unjust laws. Both of them were imprisoned, which led to a uprising and later the laws were successfully repealed Some people might argue even if a law is unjust one should not break laws. As breaking a law is illegal. Some Indian freedom fighters such as Lokmanya Tilak believed in such ideologies. They wrote letters to the British government requesting them to repeal such laws. British government did not pay heed to any requests, and their plan turned out to be fruitless. On the other hand extremist leaders such has Bhagat Singh tried to revolt and disobey laws and was lionised in India To conclude, following laws is crucial for functioning of a society. But that does not mean people should accept any unjust laws. They disobey any unjust laws and take a stand to repeal them.