“Every family has a black sheep”. How do you understand this expression? Is honesty and labour always the best policy. Is it an exception to the rule?

Every family has a black sheep. I think it means, there is a person in a family that did or still does something unpleasant. Thus, making this person stand out of the family, eventually making them disapprove of black sheep action or behavior. It is not like there is bad blood between them. It is just the family's dislike of the sheep's actions. Are honesty and labor always the best policy? To answer that, I would be delighted to refer to the story of "The Ant and the Grasshopper" by W. S. Maugham. The Ramsay family had a black sheep in the face of Tommy Ramsay, the youngest son in the family. He did not want to work, and one day just went away to travel Europe on borrowed money from his older brother. Tommy spent a huge amount of time, partying eating in the best restaurants, and dressing in costly clothes. He had this astonishing effect on people. Everyone knew him and liked him. Once in a while, Tom just turned up to his older brother and asked for money. Indeed, he was reckless. Whereas George was a righteous man and a good father to his children, he worked hard and was honest, not like Tom. For some reason, George kept giving his brother money, but he stopped when Tommy came into his wife's money, and boy, it was a fortune, ever since George was pissed off by how unfair this was. I guess it was either skills or dumb luck that made Tommy a fortune. I felt sorry for George, but I think he shouldn't give money to his brother and try to reason him in the first place. I do hope that honesty and labor are the best policy, as my life goes, I can see that sometimes being honest and hard-working ain't enough. I do not consider H. W Maugham's story as an exception to this rule. Life ain't fair, we have to live with it.