Advantages and disadvantages of a year off between university and high school

A gap year between university and high school is often thought of as one prepares to finish his/her secondary school. This may help students achieve more understanding of what they desire to pursue in their further studies or life in general. However, it may also end in students choosing not to continue their studies to a university level. First of all, a gap year that is invested in a relevant job may help a student to gain more knowledge of the field of study they plan to study at university. Furthermore, a rest year may help a student to gain peace of mind from all the studying and school projects, hence, they will have the chance to have clear thoughts about what they want to do with their lives. Secondly, a gap year is an opportunity to learn useful life skills that can only be learned through one's own experience. I remember that the year off between my high school and college has helped me make a strategic plan for my future in addition to the valuable job experience that helped me later in my career. On the other hand, a year off may reduce students' chances to complete their studies for various of reasons. Firstly, if that year is spent working, students are likely to be tempted by the sweetness of money, and decide that a job now is better than no job after three to four years of university education. Secondly, students' eagerness and excitement about higher education may fade if they spend a year without going to school, as learning is an ongoing process. To conclude, a year off may help students plan their future, however, it may also end with them choosing not to go to university.