Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

It is clear that, across the world, food wastage is a common phenomenon. There are multiple causes for this problem; and this is not something that can be solved in a single day. A collective effort is required, both from government and citizens to compact this issue. In this essay, I will explore some of the causes for food wastage and propose possible solutions. Firstly, In a country like India we do not have proper storage facilities and distribution channels for storing perishable items. As a result, vegetables like onions and tomatoes, which have very low shelf life is being wasted or thrown away. To illustrate this point, it has been estimated that every year close to Rs. 100 million worth of vegetable and fruits are rotting away, due to the lack of proper storage infrastructure. It is important for the government to do a thorough study of the distribution channels for these perishable items and come up with a plan to build facilities to store such items at proper locations across the country. Furthermore, every citizen in our country should take responsibility to prevent food wastage at his/her home. For instance, in India, lavish weddings and parties contribute close to 15% of the food wasted every day. It is important that, when we are planning for a function, we should also consider, means by which we can distribute the excess leftover food. Nowadays, they are many organizations which can help with this. To sum up, food wastage is a major concern in today's society and in my view, both government and individuals should take responsibility to address this issue and start with solutions proposed above.