Evergrande crisis and impact on global economy

Evergrande Crisis Begining China, Housing Projects and Real Estate gave birth to Evergrande Group in 1996. There primary business is of real estate inspite of this they run a lot of other small businesses. Main reason behind the crisis is company’s liabilities of around 300 billion which is almost2% of China’s GDP. This condition has been reported earlier in 2012 by American short seller Andrew left which caused him a ban for 5 years from Hong kong exchange. He also cited that government was also aware of the company’s financial health hence the crisis has been long awaited. Evergrande came into limelight when the chinese government imposed more than 100 regulations on Companies raising money via money market instruments. This made many chinese firms stumble but evergrande was seen as the worst effected with raising and using debt from bondholders, wealth mnagemnet business. This led to company’s stock stooping downwards and the investors believing after the company started defaulting. Crises impact on domestic and global markets Today, Evergrande's market cap is down to $2. 95 billion, losing nearly 95 percent of its value. The share trading has been suspended. In lehman’s language china’s housing debt is almost 150 percent which has led to rise in prices and panic selling led to increased fear and loss of trust among investors. This brought fear among investors globally as China has the second largest economy which could burst a housing bubble like the one experienced in 2008. Imports of China like crude oil, iron ore and gold have already started seeing dip. For instance, the Iron industry is directly affected by Evergrande's crash as it is a major product for the real estate industry. Hence this eventually caused a stir among the global steel industry. To conclude it can be stated that if the government doesn't rescue the real estate giant then it will cause a major impact among economies worldwide in terms of banks who act as money lenders, Suppliers as well as the money market.