Even more people are interested in wearing fashionable clothes nowadays. Do you think it is a positive or a negative trend?

In today’s world personal image is very important for people. More and more people are following the fashionable trends when they dress up. This essay will discuss why this trend could be considered rather a positive than a negative one. To begin with, wearing fashionable clothes could be considered a positive trend for several reasons; it increases the self confidence, especially among teenagers, and it gives a sense of belonging to a community. Moreover, being preoccupied for the outfit and the trends in society suggests an interest for personal development. For example, if somebody chooses to follow the trends in fashion, he/she has to inform about it, to observe the people, and to have an interest in personal image. Furthermore, if a teenager uses trendy outfit, he will become popular among his/her colleagues and friends and this will lead to a strong self confidence. All in all, wearing popular clothes could be considered a positive thing. On the other hand, being trendy has also some negative aspects. If you follow the current, you will be the same like the others and the individuality is suppressed. In addition, the fashionable clothes usually cost more than they deserve. For example, Sony products cost almost double compared with other brands of the same kind of products; half of the price is paid just for the brand itself. So, following the trends is not always the best option, especially if you want to save money. In conclusion, wearing nice clothes leads to a better image and it is important in nowadays society. The interest in clothing is increasing, especially among young people. Despite the cost disadvantages, I would consider it a positive trend, because of the emotional benefits.