EVALUATION OF Lactobacillus plantarum AND Lactococcus lactis ISOLATED FROM DUCK EXCRETA AS POTENTIAL PROBIOTICS FOR CHICKEN NUTRITION xamgy

Since the antibiotic growth promoters (AGP) were banned, probiotics have become one of the increasinglye relevant products to be developed in the poultry industry. Probiotics can be supplemented orally, added to the diet or water (Abd El‐Hack et al. , 2020). Kook et al. (2019) stated that probiotics are additives that contain non-pathogenic microorganisms, can live and interact with microflora in the digestive tract. Probiotics have pharmacological effects such as antibacterial, anticancer, and antimutagenic (Yamazaki et al. , 2012; Zitvogel et al. , 2017). Probiotics as a feed additive can change the balance of microflora in the intestine, because the microbes in the intestine are dominated by microbes that are beneficial to the body so that pathogenic microbes can be suppressed and reduce the possibility of disease infection and also can increase nutrient absorption (Yadav and Jha, 2019 ). In addition, probiotics are able to increase the production of vitamin K, stimulate the immune system, and can detoxify toxins (mycotoxins) in the gastrointestinal tract (Śliżewska et al. , 2020). Probiotics can affect health status because they can stimulate immune responses, inhibit pathogens (Ding et al. , 2020; Garcia-Gonzalez et al. , 2021), control diarrhea, and reduce cholesterol levels (Ding et al. , 2020). Commonly probiotic bacteria belong to the group lactic acid bacteria (LAB); Species of LAB includes genus Lactobacillus, Bifidobacterium, Pediococcus (Alhaag et al. , 2019), and Streptococcus are widely-used probiotics (Rahman et al. , 2016). The LAB can be obtained from the isolation of various sources, such as processed food products (fermented meat and fish, fermented milk, kimchi, pickles, yogurt), fermented feed (silage), organs of living things (digestive tract), and feces or excreta (Huang et al. , 2020; Garcia-Gonzalez et al. , 2021). Isolation of LAB from excreta can reflect the group of bacteria present in the digestive tract (Huang et al. , 2020). Among farm animals, ducks are poultry that are susceptible to disease and have good digestibility of fiber feed (Han et al. , 2017; Ibrahim et al. , 2020). It is suspected that the role of the microbiota in the digestive tract in helping the absorption of feed nutrients and stimulating the immune response. Previous studies found Lactobacillus sp. as the most dominant bacteria isolated from chicken excreta (Yamazaki et al. , 2012; Aazami et al. , 2015; Robledo-Cardona et al. , 2018; Ludfiani et al. , 2020). The aim of this study was to determine the potential probiotic properties of Lactobacillus and Lactococcus isolated from duck excreta for supplementing in poultry diets.