Euthanasia should be legalized or not?

Euthanasia is such an emotive issue in the field of medical science which often sparks a lot of heated arguments among people. Even though several people are against such a horrific method, there are a few people who believe that euthanasia should be made legal. And I completely disagree with the given idea since I find it to be an area where a lot of ethical issues exit. Firstly, there is a chance of misuse of this method. Euthanasia is something that is to be carried out in a critical situation and there is no other way to bring him back to life. For instance, if a patient is severely burned and no pain relievers or any other medication are found effective to cure him. But in case of legalization, it will become a common practice among medical practitioners that any patient can be subjected to mercy killing without proper reason. Secondly, in most of the cases the consent to perform such an activity is provided by the family members or relatives and there is a chance of misusing. For example, the family members of old people can opt for intentional killing for usurping their properties. Also the people who don't want to spend time and money taking care of their old and ill parents may take it as an easy solution to run away from their responsibilities. Thirdly, life is a gift of nature or God, humans have no right to put an end abrupt end to it. However, as the medical technology is making great strides day by day it is the moral responsibility of medical professionals and the relatives of the patient to keep him alive as long as possible. Who knows an effective treatment may become available soon after administrating mercy killing to the patient? To conclude, I strongly feel that euthanasia should not be legalized world wide; if it is practiced in any country, the legal status must be rolled back as soon as possible.