Euthanasia is the practice of ending the life of a terminally ill patient or someone in great pain. A few countries in the world allow euthanasia to be practiced by doctors, though it is still a very controversial issue. What is your opinion on the matter?

Society might one day have to consider whether or not to legalize euthanasia. Euthanasia is a very controversial issue throughout the world. There are some countries that allow euthanasia to be practiced by their doctors. I strongly believe that euthanasia is wrong for many reasons. Proponents of euthanasia claim that it is a way of letting a patient die in peace. A patient with tubes in every part of their body, struggling to breathe and live, would certainly be in extreme pain. It is not only the patients themselves that are suffering, though, but also loved ones who are watching. Advocates say that it is much better for the patient to be put to death rather than have them suffer or have loved ones go on emotional roller coasters. They constantly emphasize pain and emotional suffering to support their argument. Euthanasia sounds like an enticing option but opponents think otherwise. Opponents say that the physical pain that a patient goes through is not a valid reason for euthanasia, regardless of whether they want it or not. Painkillers and antibiotics can deal with most serious pain, thanks to advanced medical technology. Killing a patient or asking to be put to death is not the only option. In addition, euthanasia is morally wrong in many aspects. Doctors can misjudge a patient’s prognosis. In many cases, a patient who was comatose might gain consciousness years later. If a doctor euthanizes them, it would raise ethical issues. No one can know exactly how much pain and suffering a person and their family goes through when someone is so badly injured that euthanasia is an option. However, we need to have hope rather than work against natural processes.