Community service is the best punishment for young people who commit a small crime.

In Singapore, when a young person commits a petty crime such as graffiti on public properties, he or she is normally sentenced to prison, given a fine, or community service. In my opinion, I believe that community service is the best option. First of all, community service often persuades a young person not to commit crimes again. For instance, working with sick children or old people makes young offenders realize that there are people who have more difficult lives than they do. It is known that community service provides an educational experience that is beneficial for young people whereas, going to prison or paying a fine is not. Secondly, spending time in prison results in young people meeting other criminals who might have committed serious crimes such as murder, fraud or drug-dealing. Mixing around these offenders enables them to learn more about the criminal world. This may tempt them into committing more serious crimes in the future. In addition, in prisons, many of the prisoners take drugs and this is terrible example for young offenders. To sum up, I believe that community service has important advantages 6. both for minor offenders and for the community. It teaches young offenders to learn from their mistakes in a positive way and prevent them from re-offending.