Essay#4: Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Museums are of great importance as they contain the heritage of previous civilizations in all fields and from all ages to convey to us a picture of civilizations we have not seen before, whether historical, artistic or cultural. However, a number of people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. On the contrary, I believe that museums are extremely relevant even though we live in an age of technology and virtual tours of museums or pictures of artifacts can’t replace the real objects seen in person. In today's digitally advancing world, everyone is glued to the Internet, their mobile devices, snippets on Twitter and Facebook, and want to learn and experience via the myriad of video, photos, and personal experiences of others online. Thus, virtual access of archive is gaining popularity instead of personal visits. For instance, Smithsonian Museum of Natural Science's website consists detailed virtual tours for public to access via internet. Also exponential amount of data can b