Essay topics: Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that governments should make it free for all students no matter financial background they have. with this opini

It is argued that besides providing higher education, the government should no introduce any tuition fee for students regardless of their financial status. Personally, while I accept that citizens deserve to have opportunities to attend college, I believe that making college free will lead to unexpected consequences. On the one hand, there are several reasons for which everyone should be free to pursue higher education. Firstly, stepping into the 21st century, establishing an egalitarian society has been one of the top priorities for states. Therefore, assuring equal chances to acquire a tertiary degree can be regarded as an imperative mission, especially when scholastic capability of residents and the need for knowledge have never stopped increasing in the past few decades. The second reason is that nationwide access to higher education can help states narrow the gap between social classes. Indeed, thanks to academic knowledge acquired at college, people from underprivileged area can keep pace with and become as competitive as those who enjoy higher living and education standard when applying for a well-paid job. In other words, not only does this satisfy human basic needs but it is also the key to ensuring the nation’s sustainable development. On the other hand, the idea that the government does not introduce tuition fees for all financial classes is inappropriate because of many reasons. Firstly, assisting an increasing number of students with their tuition fees will upsurge the government’s expenditure which may put a financial burden onto national budget, pushing the government to the verge of bankruptcy or fiscal policy crisis. In addition, getting rid of tuition fees will lead to a higher number of admissions. It is obvious that the more students attend, the greater pressure universities will suffer. Consequently, training quality may decline due to lecturers’ difficulties in tailoring their teaching strategies, or preparing for interactive learning. In brief, although equal chances to attend universities should be ubiquitous, it is unwise for the government to provide free higher education for everyone.