essay about government investment

A good community spirit can certainly be promoted by various means, including investment in local amenities such as leisure complexes. While I agree that this approach is worthwhile, it is not necessarily the best, as there are other equally important strategies. Local amenities like leisure complexes are important for bringing people of all ages together and for providing them with opportunities to mingle with friends and meet new people. As well as facilities, such centres can provide a wide range of activities like swimming clubs and yoga classes as well as art classes, which give people the chance to meet old and new friends and strengthen the local community spirit. Other amenities such as libraries that are open to the public can also play a role in developing a community. Other measures that are also useful are holding local festivals and fun days, not just in parks but in streets that are closed off to traffic for the day or weekend. In fact, any activity that involves local people coming together, such as volunteering in the clean-up of local neighbourhoods or tidying up local spaces, is worthwhile. Another important strategy is the design of local neighbourhoods. Unfortunately, the enormous pressure to increase accommodation for growing populations means that there is less space for houses with gardens. However, it is possible to provide well-maintained open spaces that attract local people along with venues to give them a chance to interact with each other, like local shops instead of large supermarkets, all of which can nurture a local identity and spirit. In conclusion, investing in local amenities is one among many approaches that can contribute to the fostering of a good spirit within communities.