Escapism- a relief from unplesant realities

Life can be full of hardships, so it’s nice to take a step back from reality and get lost in the fantasies of our own minds. That’s why we read books about faraway lands and explore virtual worlds with powerful avatars. Too much of it, however, can be detrimental to your productivity and personal growth. Escapism, in its most basic form, is intentional detachment and distraction from the real world. It allows a momentary reprieve from your circumstances, giving you a chance to recharge your batteries before you jump back into the fray. If you like to watch television or movies, listen to music, read books, play games, and daydream, you’ve partaken in escapism. It’s completely normal. Playing sports, telling stories, and even eating food all can be used to escape. The purpose of this report is to outline and get an insight into the mental health of people due to stress and workload. The reasoning behind choosing this topic was to know how the people dwell on the theme of escapism, not only as a psychological refuge from the grim realities of the present day world but also as a desire to stay connected with the past or future or to keep the past/future alive in the complexities of the present. According to the data procured by the survey, about 66. 7 % of respondents believe that time travel exists thus indicating a sense of creativity among them. While the rest of them are sceptical about the existence of time travel. A recent survey conducted shows a whopping 37. 3% of respondents wanting to time travel to explore time and another 38. 2% to know their past/future, making both the options equally alluring. And 15. 7% of respondents of the remaining wanted to relax/live in a better world. An estimated 27. 5% of respondents prefer travelling to the past, and about 56. 9% of those surveyed claim to have an interest in time travelling to the future. In Fact a majority of respondents acknowledge that time travel could actually change reality, while the other 38. 2% of them claimed to partially believe about the circumstance of time travelling. In Q. 12 (Fig 1), out of the total 101 respondents, 60 wanted to ameliorate their past/future and a whopping 47 out of them comprised people in the age group of 15-30 years. One of the reasons that the youth looks for escapism is to escape the feeling of regret caused by their mistakes. Thus, these people prefer advancing to the future or retrieving to the past so as to reduce their sufferings caused by their reality. Out of 101 responses about 6. 9% of them prefer spending all their savings in order to travel through time and 20. 6% prefer to spend almost half of their savings for the same. Remaining 52 % opt to not spend any money to travel. One of the reasons that people would not like to spend money is because they believe that materialistic wealth is the only preferable way to stay happy and survive the rat race of the modern world. The surveyed data prove that about 21. 6 % of respondents believe that time travel is a viable solution to end the troubles posed by the sufferings of the modern world, while 23. 5 % of the remaining are repellent for the same. A large proportion of about 45. 1% of them still doubt whether time travel can lead to a hassle-free life and partially agree for the same.