Analysis of Tadao Ando's signature architectural work, Church of the Light, in summer and winter to turn it into a solar green building using Olgyay method

Today, due to the increasing importance of the optimal use of renewable energy, the design of green buildings and the reconstruction of older buildings has attracted the attention of a number of architects and designers. The aim of the present study was to investigate the comfort zone of the Church of the Light, located in Osaka, Japan during summer and winter. The comfort zone is a condition in which most people feel comfortable in the temperature and meets international standards. For this purpose, using Olgyay method and calculating the area, solar radiation energy, humidity and other related components, Olgyay diagram was drawn and according to the diagram, it was concluded that this building is not in the comfort zone in summer and winter. Based on the result, effective yet minor and inexpensive changes were proposed to bring the building into the comfort zone.