Certain people think that it is beneficial for older generation citizens to maintain their work without retirement if it is possible. In my personal opinion, there are several merits for society and the old people.

Certain people think that it is beneficial for older generation citizens to maintain their work without retirement if it is possible. In my personal opinion, there are several merits for society and the old people. On the one hand, it is profitable for society in the long term if elderly people continue their work. Firstly, the government can collect more overall income tax, since old people can make money and pay tax as well as young individuals so that the nation can invest in many fields like technology. Secondly, the government does not need to spend welfare expenses for senior citizens who are retired from their workplaces and can not make money anymore. This is because they can earn their cost of living themselves without asking for help from the government welfare system. Secondly, the enterprise can hire skillful workers as old people are more experienced than young workers. When it comes to their private life, if older individuals continue their work past their retirement age, such a trend has upbeat effects on their living and mentality. First and foremost, by working, they can pay their cost of living fees such as rent. To be explained, they would need to earn money for them since their lifespan is longer than in the past due to medical science technology. Thus, if they already have a retirement fund, it would not be enough for the rest of their life. On top of that, maintaining work can help the mental health of old people. This is because people who are aged and retired would feel isolated from society and they easily feel depressed. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the trend of older citizens continuously working has beneficial effects for society such as collecting income tax, saving welfare assets, and hiring skillful workers. Moreover, it is helpful for older people’s mental or emotional health and financial condition.