Some countries use prisons as primarily as a punishment for criminals. Other countries use them to rehabilitate prisoners so they can be useful members of society

There are some countries where jails are used as a way of keeping offenders in distance from society, and at the same time there other countries in which prisons is the way to help and prepare criminals to be useful part of society. I believe that the main role of jails should be rehabilitating offenders and prevent their tendency to commit crime. On the one hand, countries where prisons realized as the only way of punishment, considered as a better position to prevent people to commit crime by sentencing them for long periods. For example, the countries were prisons deterrent people with their severe conditions might stop and demotivate from doing crimes. On the other hand, there countries which successfully implemented the rehabilitation structures, which are used for criminals, as another opportunity to become useful members of society. The way how this countries help to prisoners is interesting as they can help to society by working in environment saving programs, social works or even prisons launched some education programs to prepare offenders after prison life. This rehabilitation in prisons may guarantee to decrease crime rates in the country as criminals become part of society and find jobs after sentence period ends. Therefore, giving one more chance to criminals is the better way to prevent and decrease crime rates. In conclusion, I can understand why some countries use prisons as the severe punishment, but I believe the best way is to rehabilitate offenders, as it will have more benefits for all of us.