Environmental problems ore loo big for individual countries and individual persons for address. ln other words, we hove reached a stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. wi

It is argued that free humanitarian services should be made a mandatory aspect of high school curriculum. This essay strongly agrees with this suggestion because of the benefits it would bring to students. Firstly, this essay will discuss the view that social work can help students in high school develop useful skills; and secondly, discuss the fact that it will facilitate their discovery of innate talents. Participation in community welfare work has been proven to help students develop vital life skills. That is to say that students who take part in meaningful social support tend to develop abilities that help them in other areas of life, especially work. Some of such proficiencies include leadership, communication and interpersonal skills; team work, problem solving etc. For instance, recent research by the Bureau of Public Learning in Lagos, Nigeria shows that secondary school students who initiated or participated in neighbourhood improvement programmes majorly ended up as CEOs of top businesses or in senior management positions of multinational companies. Furthermore, high schoolers are likely to discover their inherent potentials in the course of voluntary work. These are talents and abilities which may not be otherwise discovered in the classroom, but could be uncovered in the process of coaching younger children, fundraising to champion causes or selling bake sale products. For example, my older brother who currently works as a painter was unaware of his love for painting until he, along with other senior year boys from his school, banded together to repaint the weathered walls of an old, retired teacher's home. In conclusion, community welfare work should be made obligatory for students in their high school years because it could help them develop important life skills as well as uncover hitherto unknown capabilities which they possess.